Winamp Logo
The Worship Review Cover
The Worship Review Profile

The Worship Review

English, Religion, 5 seasons, 147 episodes, 4 days, 8 hours, 23 minutes
About
Informative reviews of Christian worship music by a history professor (Colin) and a linguist (Tyler). Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/worship-review/support
Episode Artwork

146 - Grace Alone - Dustin Kensrue

This week's episode analyzes a song by Dustin Kensrue called "Grace Alone." The song addresses several core elements of the gospel: that we have no right to approach God, that we have redemption and salvation through Jesus, that the Holy Spirit makes the light of Christ shine on our darkened hearts, and more. Lyrics: I was an orphan lost at the Fall, Running away when I'd hear Your call, But Father, You worked Your will I had no righteousness of my own, I had no right to draw near Your throne, But Father, You loved me still And in love before You laid the world's foundation You predestined to adopt me as Your own You have raised me so high up above my station I'm a child of God by grace and grace alone You left Your home to seek out the lost; You knew the great and terrible cost, But Jesus, Your face was set I worked my fingers down to the bone; Nothing I did could ever atone, But Jesus, You paid my debt By Your blood, I have redemption and salvation; Lord, You died that I might reap what You have sown And You rose that I might be a new creation; I am born again by grace and grace alone I was in darkness all of my life; I never knew the day from the night, But Spirit, You made me see I swore I knew the way on my own; Head full of rocks, a heart made of stone, But Spirit, You moved in me At your touch my sleeping spirit was awakened; On my darkened heart the light of Christ has shone Called into a kingdom that cannot be shaken; Heaven's citizen by grace and grace alone So I'll stand in faith by grace and grace alone; I will run the race by grace and grace alone I will slay my sin by grace and grace alone; I will reach the end by grace and grace alone --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
4/1/202433 minutes, 19 seconds
Episode Artwork

145 - It was Finished upon that Cross - CityAlight

If you saw the phrase "Free to Love" on a bumper sticker in California, what would you think it meant? What about in a worship song? Colin and Tyler talk about "It was Finished upon that Cross" by CityAlight. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
3/11/202428 minutes, 53 seconds
Episode Artwork

144 - Gratitude - Brandon Lake

Colin and Tyler yuk it up on this episode of The Worship Review. Brandon Lake's very popular song 'Gratitude' provides an opportunity to discuss thankfulness and how we express it to God. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
2/26/202443 minutes, 5 seconds
Episode Artwork

143 - 1,000 Hallelujahs - Brooke Ligertwood

This worship song reminds us that all our praise ultimately belongs to King Jesus. As we dive into the lyrics of this modern praise tune, we take a closer look at the creation declaring God's glory, the implications of God existing outside of time, and the eternity of praise Christians have to look forward to. "1,000 Hallelujahs and 1,000 more" equals 2,000, but how many points out of five will Colin and Tyler give this song? Tune in to find out. [Verse 1] Who else would rocks cry out to worship? Whose glory taught the stars to shine? Perhaps creation longs to have the words to sing But this joy is mine [Chorus] With a thousand hallelujahs We magnify Your name You alone deserve the glory The honor and the praise Lord Jesus This song is forever Yours A thousand hallelujahs And a thousand more [Verse 2] Who else would die for our redemption? Whose resurrection means I’ll rise? There isn’t time enough to sing of all You’ve done But I have eternity to try [Bridge] Praise to the Lord To the lamb To the King of Heaven Praise for He rose Now He reigns We will sing forever Praise to the Lord To the lamb To the King of Heaven Praise for He rose Now He reigns We will sing forever --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
1/30/202434 minutes, 17 seconds
Episode Artwork

142 - O Holy Night - Josh Groban

This classic song has been sung at Advent time for generations. How well does it present the gospel? Is it easy to understand? Should churches sing it? We discuss on this episode of The Worship Review. Lyrics: O Holy night! The stars are brightly shiningIt is the night of our dear Savior's birthLong lay the world in sin and error pining'Til He appears and the soul felt its worthA thrill of hope the weary world rejoicesFor yonder breaks a new and glorious mornFall on your knees; O hear the Angel voices!O night divine, O night when Christ was bornO night, O Holy night, O night divine!Led by the light of Faith serenely beamingWith glowing hearts by His cradle we standSo led by light of a star sweetly gleamingHere come the Wise Men from Orient landThe King of kings lay thus in lowly mangerIn all our trials born to be our friendHe knows our need, to our weakness is no strangerBehold your King; before Him lowly bendBehold your King; before Him lowly bendTruly He taught us to love one another;His law is love and His Gospel is PeaceChains shall He break, for the slave is our brotherAnd in His name, all oppression shall ceaseSweet hymns of joy in grateful chorus raise weLet all within us Praise His Holy nameChrist is the Lord; O praise His name forever!His power and glory evermore proclaimHis power and glory evermore proclaim --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/25/202344 minutes, 50 seconds
Episode Artwork

141 - Come Light Our Hearts - Sandra McCracken

This easy-going and elegant song appeared on both the Rain For Roots Waiting Songs album as well as Sandra McCracken's God's Highway. Should an advent song like this one-a song which relies on metaphor and seasonal context--be treated differently than songs which use similar elements, but without the context? Colin and Tyler discuss. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/11/202335 minutes, 14 seconds
Episode Artwork

140 - I Can Only Imagine - MercyMe

Colin and Tyler look at a CCM classic that wonders at what the experience of Heaven will be like. We talk about individual vs. collective expression of worship, thinking and feeling in worship, and reference some Biblical texts that shape our understanding of Heaven. Lyrics: I can only imagine what it will be like When I walk, by your side I can only imagine what my eyes will see When you face is before me I can only imagine I can only imagine Surrounded by You glory What will my heart feel Will I dance for you Jesus Or in awe of You be still Will I stand in your presence Or to my knees will I fall Will I sing hallelujah Will I be able to speak at all I can only imagine I can only imagine I can only imagine when that day comes When I find myself standing in the Son I can only imagine when all I would do is forever Forever worship You I can only imagine I can only imagine Surrounded by Your glory What will my heart feel Will I dance for You, Jesus Or in awe of you be still Will I stand in your presence Or to my knees will I fall Will I sing hallelujah Will I be able to speak at all I can only imagine I can only imagine hey ya ah Surrounded by Your glory What will my heart feel Will I dance for You, Jesus Or in awe of you be still Will I stand in Your presence Or to my knees will I fall Will I sing hallelujah Will I be able to speak at all I can only imagine I can only imagine hey ya ah I can only imagine yeah yeah I can only imagine I can only imagine ey ey ey I can only imagine I can only imagine when all I will do Is forever, forever worship You I can only imagine Song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_lrrq_opng --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
11/13/202339 minutes, 37 seconds
Episode Artwork

139 - Thank God I Do - Lauren Daigle

Colin and Tyler are presented with a challenge this week in comprehending the lyrics to Thank God I Do by Lauren Daigle. Undoubtedly popular, the song peaked at number 1 on the Billboard US Christian Songs chart. Thank God I Do says "you're my safe place, my hideaway, my anchor, my saving grace," but who is the "you" of the song? Tune in to hear the discussion. Lyrics I've seen love come andI've seen love walk awaySo many questionsWill anybody stay?It's been a hard yearSo many nights in tearsAll of the darknessTryin' to fight my fearsAlone, so long, aloneI don't know who I'd be if I didn't know YouI'd probably fall off the edgeI don't know where I'd go if You ever let goSo keep me held in Your handsI've started breathin'The weight is lifted hereWith You, it's easyMy head is finally clearThere's nothin' missingWhen You are by my sideI took the long roadBut now I realizеI'm home, with You, I'm home I don't know who I'd be if I didn't know YouI'd probably fall off thе edgeI don't know where I'd go if You ever let goSo keep me held in Your handsI don't know who I'd be if I didn't know YouI'd probably fall of the edgeI don't know where I'd go if You ever let goSo keep me held in Your handsYou're my safe placeMy hideawayYou're my anchorMy saving graceYou're my constantMy steadinessYou're my shelterMy oxygenI don't know who I'd be if I didn't know YouThank God, I doI don't know who I'd be if I didn't know YouI'd probably fall off the edgeI don't know where I'd go if You ever let goSo keep me held in Your hands I don't know who I'd be if I didn't know YouThank God, I do --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
10/22/202321 minutes, 46 seconds
Episode Artwork

138 - Man of Sorrows - Philip Bliss

Should a worship song really call people "vile" or "ruined"? Tyler and Colin parse through an old song that continues to be sung in many churches: "Man of Sorrows" (aka: "Hallelujah! What A Savior!"). --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
10/2/202331 minutes, 39 seconds
Episode Artwork

137 - One Thing I Have Asked (Psalm 27) - Nathan Partain

Worship leader and songwriter Nathan Partain set Psalm 27 to music. We discuss both the style and substance of this thoughtful rendition. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
9/11/202327 minutes, 20 seconds
Episode Artwork

136 - His Mercy is More - Matt Papa and Matt Boswell

Here's a modern hymn, written by Matt Papa and Matt Boswell, dealing with God's abundant mercy for sinners. Even though our sins are indeed "many," God's grace is greater. In this episode, we talk about the riches of God's love, the fact that God chooses not to remember the sins of His people, and the refreshing, constant mercy that awaits Christians every day. We also learn that Colin has a strong internal clock. Song background: https://www.mattpapa.com/songs/his-mercy-is-more Versions sampled: Matt Papa & Matt Boswell: His Mercy is More https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uBZk0bVjCAA Shane & Shane: His Mercy is More https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uBZk0bVjCAA Keith & Kristyn Getty, Matt Boswell, Matt Papa: His Mercy is More https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-31oJTdh1w Lyrics: What love could remember no wrongs we have done Omniscient, all knowing, He counts not their sum Thrown into a sea without bottom or shore Our sins they are many, His mercy is more What patience would wait as we constantly roam What Father, so tender, is calling us home He welcomes the weakest, the vilest, the poor Our sins they are many, His mercy is more Praise the Lord, His mercy is more Stronger than darkness, new every morn Our sins they are many, His mercy is more What riches of kindness He lavished on us His blood was the payment, His life was the cost We stood 'neath a debt we could never afford Our sins they are many, His mercy is more Praise the Lord, His mercy is more Stronger than darkness, new every morn Our sins they are many, His mercy is more Praise the Lord, His mercy is more Stronger than darkness, new every morn Our sins they are many, His mercy is more Our sins they are many, His mercy is more --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
8/16/202323 minutes, 2 seconds
Episode Artwork

135 - O Lord, I Love You, My Shield, My Tower - Trinity Hymnal #620

This setting of Psalm 18 deals with deliverance from trouble, and more importantly, deliverance from death and sin in Jesus Christ's triumphant resurrection. Colin and Tyler discuss love for The Lord and seeking refuge in Him, what Psalm 18 says about His wrath, the fear of God (Proverbs 1:7), what it is like reading the Bible as one ages, the benefits of singing old hymns, and a children's movie. Unfortunately, no recorded choral setting with the hymn lyrics is widely accessible. Colin reads the text over a piano setting and the original Saint-Saëns Symphony No. 3. Text: O Lord, I Love You, My shield, My tow'r, my stronghold, my rock, my saving pow'r, I worship you! Bless your holy name! What unceasing praise your mercies claim! Cords of death had bound my heart with fear; tidal waves of Satan crested near, "God, my God," I cried, "hear from your throne; save me from these depths, make mercy known!" Saving might brought answer, Lord Most High. Dark your path; your storm clouds swept the sky; lightning flashed, deep thunder spoke your word. Waters parted; death your summons heard. You came down, almighty Lord, my stay, drew me up and drove my foes away. Your right hand put Satan's host to flight, then clasped me, embraced in your delight. Now among all nations I would sing, praising our anointed Lord, our King. Hear His cry of triumph from the grave, see him leap the wall of death to save. His the righteousness that claims reward, his the saving coming of the Lord. Hail him, Victor in that deadly strife: Jesus is our rock, our Prince of life. Audio sampled in this episode: "620. O Lord, I Love You, My Shield, My Tower (Saint-Saens Tune), Trinity Hymnal" by Piano Series https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1aNAGwIhkdI "Saint-Saëns - Symphony No 3 in C minor, Op 78 - Järvi" by Classical Vault 1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZWCZq33BrOo "BABE - If I had words" by Hilde Orens https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H11mlCL-dkE Full text of Psalm 18: Link --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
7/25/202336 minutes, 5 seconds
Episode Artwork

134 - Holy, Holy, Holy - Reginald Heber

This episode not only discusses the classic hymn, "Holy, Holy, Holy", but investigates what makes a song trinitarian. And what does it mean when this song says "though the darkness hide thee"? --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
7/17/202344 minutes, 27 seconds
Episode Artwork

133 - All Sufficient Merit - Shane & Shane

Tyler and Colin continue to evaluate "excellent" songs with Shane & Shane's "All Sufficient Merit". --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
6/26/202336 minutes, 53 seconds
Episode Artwork

132 - From the Depths of Woe (Psalm 130) - Indelible Grace Music

Martin Luther set Psalm 130 to verse; Chris Miner put music to it, and Andrew Osenga and Emily Deloach of Indelible Grace Music blend their voices to produce this version. Colin and Tyler discuss these five verses and the theology undergirding them. We address the gravity of man's sin, the exceeding magnitude of God's mercy, and the Good Shepherd, Jesus Christ, who saves his people from their sins. Lyrics: Music by Christopher Miner Words by Martin Luther ©1997 Christopher Miner Music 1. From the depths of woe I raise to Thee, a voice of lamentation. Lord, turn a gracious ear to me, And hear my supplication. If Thou iniquities dost mark, Our secret sins and misdeeds dark, O who shall stand before Thee? 2. To wash away the crimson stain, Grace, grace alone availeth. Our works, alas! are all in vain; In much the best life faileth. No man can glory in Thy sight, All must alike confess Thy might, And live alone by mercy. 3. Therefore my trust is in the Lord, And not in mine own merit. On Him my soul shall rest, His word upholds my fainting spirit. His promised mercy is my fort, My comfort, and my sweet support. I wait for it with patience. 4. What though I wait the live-long night, And ’til the dawn appeareth. My heart still trusteth in His might, It doubteth not nor feareth. Do thus, O ye of Israel’s seed, Ye of the Spirit born indeed, And wait ’til God appeareth. 5. Though great our sins and sore our woes, His grace much more aboundeth. His helping love no limit knows, Our upmost need it soundeth. Our Shepherd good and true is He, Who will at last His Israel free, From all their sin and sorrow.credits Indelible Grace version: https://youtu.be/1aVWBSmghAs Chris Miner version: https://christopherminer901.bandcamp.com/track/psalm-130 --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
5/22/202341 minutes, 20 seconds
Episode Artwork

131 - Son of God - Nathan Partain

Many listeners will never have heard of this week's song "Son of God" by Nathan Partain. In discussing this song, Colin and Tyler touch on Gungor's "Friend of God", whether artificial intelligence can become Christian, gendered language in the bible and whether it is applicable to all believers --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
4/24/20231 hour, 30 seconds
Episode Artwork

130 - Be Thou My Vision - The Mandate

We've said that our best episodes are ones in which we disagree. This is one of those. Today we're looking at the ancient hymn "Be Thou My Vision," which asks God to be many things to the Christian. We make sure to include the oft-dropped "battle shield" verse. Colin emphasizes the necessity to include explicit reference to soteriological themes in music while Tyler investigates the variety offered by grammatical mood. Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart; Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art. Thou my best Thought, by day or by night, Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light. Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word; I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord; Thou my great Father, I Thy true son; Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one/ Be Thou my battle Shield, Sword for the fight; Be Thou my Dignity, Thou my Delight; Thou my soul's Shelter, Thou my high Tow’r: Raise Thou me heav’nward, O Pow’r of my pow’r. Riches I heed not, nor man's empty praise, Thou mine Inheritance, now and always: Thou and Thou only, first in my heart, High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art. High King of Heaven, my victory won, May I reach Heaven's joys, O bright Heav’n's Sun! Heart of my own heart, whatever befall, Still be my Vision, O Ruler of all. Songs sampled in this episode: Verse 1: Be Thou My Vision by Audrey Assad: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Optrm7lF16s Verse 2: Be Thou My Vision by Nathan Pacheco Music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ihJAJA4ibEs Verse 3: Be Thou My Vision (feat. Stuart Townend & Robin Mark) (Live) by The Mandate: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lgeOLmoNIY Verse 4 [and a bit at the end]: Be Thou My Vision by Keith & Kristyn Getty: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZBOSfiH8Rk Verse 5: Be Thou My Vision (Live) by The Petersens: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwwWMWTpp-U --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
4/4/202347 minutes, 17 seconds
Episode Artwork

129 - To the Cross I Cling - Matt Boswell

In addition to reviewing the song 'To the Cross I Cling' by Matt Boswell, Colin and Tyler discuss how Christian music should handle the idea of guilt and the gospels forensic aspects. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
3/13/202340 minutes, 12 seconds
Episode Artwork

128 - It is Well with My Soul - Grace Community Church

In 1876, Horatio Spafford published the first version of this hymn. In this episode, we dig deep into the story behind the lyrics. We then contemplate the rich theology of the song. Songs sampled in this episode: It is Well with my Soul by Grace Community Church: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h32qcka7DW0 It is Well by Redeemer Presbyterian Church: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6tQiLIFPFI0 --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
2/27/202345 minutes, 59 seconds
Episode Artwork

127 - You Made Us Your Own - Sovereign Grace Music

Colin and Tyler discuss the ideas of adoption and belonging in 'You Made Us Your Own'--a song released by Sovereign Grace Music and authored by Bob Kauflin, Steve Cook and Vikki Cook. There is also some discussion of recent tweets by Kevin DeYoung. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
2/20/202347 minutes, 51 seconds
Episode Artwork

126 - The Church's One Foundation - Chris Manley

This week, a hymn of unity and communion is our topic of conversation. Samuel J. Stone published this hymn in response to some doctrinal controversy as part of a compendium of songs on the Apostles' Creed called Lyra Fidelium (the lyre of the faithful), linked below. The Church's One Foundation is a meditation on the ninth article of the Apostles' Creed: "...[I believe] in the holy catholic Church, the communion of saints..." The lyrics describe a Church battered by schisms, heresies, and spiritual warfare, yet held securely by Jesus Christ. In fact, Jesus Christ is worshiped abundantly in this song: He is referred to as the Foundation, the Husband, the Creator, the Redeemer, the Defender, the Guide, the Sustainer, and The Lord of the Church.  Manley's version (with his permission) is appended to the end of this episode as it is not available online. Stone's original lyrics in Lyra Fidelium (with cross-references): http://lyra-fidelium.faithweb.com/9lyra-thechurch.html Songs sampled in this episode:  (1) The Church's One Foundation by Christ Church Bellingham https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKRmncbUMps (2) The Church's One Foundation by Indelible Grace: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j44-l71jTFI (3) The Church's One Foundation by Chris Manley and Nathan Partain (4) The Church's One Foundation by Reawaken Hymns https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2ScAzkpqbs Lyrics: The Church’s one foundation Is Jesus Christ her Lord, She is His new creation By water and the Word: From heaven He came and sought her To be His holy bride, With His own blood He bought her And for her life He died. She is from every nation Yet one o'er all the earth, Her charter of salvation One Lord, one faith, one birth, One Holy Name she blesses, Partakes one Holy Food, And to one Hope she presses With every grace endued. The Church shall never perish! Her dear Lord to defend, To guide, sustain, and cherish, Is with her to the end: Though there be those who hate her, And false sons in her pale, Against a foe or traitor She ever shall prevail. Though with a scornful wonder Men see her sore oppressed, By schisms rent asunder By heresies distressed: Yet saints their watch are keeping, Their cry goes up “How long?” And soon the night of weeping shall be the morn of song! 'Mid toil and tribulation And tumult of her war, She waits the consummation Of peace forevermore; Till, with the vision glorious, Her longing eyes are blest, And the great Church victorious Shall be the Church at rest! Yet she on earth hath union With God the Three in One, And mystic sweet communion With those whose rest is won, With all her sons and daughters Who, by the Master's Hand Led through the deathly waters, Repose in Eden-land. O happy ones and holy! Lord, give us grace that we Like them, the meek and lowly, On high may dwell with Thee: There, past the border mountains, Where in sweet vales the Bride With Thee by living fountains For ever shall abide! --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
2/6/202343 minutes, 59 seconds
Episode Artwork

125 - Preserve Me O God (Psalm 16D) - Matthew David Montgomery

We often say that it would be best if churches found ways to sing scripture. This week's song--'Preserve Me O God'--is exactly that. Here Matthew David Montgomery digs directly into the well-used 'blue' psalter (The Book of Psalms for Worship) for an adaptation of Psalm 16. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
1/23/202340 minutes, 12 seconds
Episode Artwork

124 - Eye of the Tiger (Christian Cover) - Two for Christ

This week, you're guaranteed to recognize the tune! TwoForChrist, a ministry of married couple Nick and Haley Gaglione, recently uploaded a live rendition of their cover of Survivor's Eye of the Tiger. The lyrics have been mostly swapped out for novel, motivational Christian lyrics. While the performance has found a lot of attention online, we have yet to see anyone address the song's message. We set out to investigate the lyrics. "Eye of the Tiger" by Two for Christ presents us with the opportunity to discuss how sincerity is demonstrated among Christians, and how this demonstration has changed over time. We also look at the Armor of God (Ephesians 6:11), how Christians can cause the devil to flee (James 4:7), and what benefits await those who overcome (Revelation 3). Eye of the Tiger (Christian Cover): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfO9UoHi-vI Full performance: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GadkeBxcyd4&t=0s Lift with Christ: https://liftwithchrist.org/ Lyrics:  LYRICS   Rising up, back on my feet  Got knocked down, rose above it  Went the distance, I don’t take no defeat  I will thrive, I will not just survive   Listen—Before I was a Christian something was missing  Felt a little distant, dark, resistant  Made a decision—got a new vision  Wrote my goals, yeah wrote my mission   B.C. I was aimlessly walking  Then one day I heard the voice of God talking:  “Rise up, child, to the enemy mocking  Prayer is your weapon, pray without stopping!”   It's the eye of the tiger—It's the thrill of the fight  Rising up to the challenge of our rival  With the heart of a lion & the armor of God  You will conquer it all with the eye of the tiger   Face to face with Satan himself  Don’t budge an inch, he’ll take miles  He’ll find your weakness, he will hit where it hurts  Stand your ground—make him run for the hills   It's the eye of the tiger—It's the thrill of the fight  Rising up to the challenge of our rival  If you cast all your cares on Him & pray through the night You will conquer it all with the eye of the tiger   Rising up straight to the top  Fight for Christ, give Him glory  Go the distance, don’t retreat, never stop  For the Lord always wins in the end   It's the eye of the tiger—It's the thrill of the fight  Rising up to the challenge of our rival  With the heart of a lion & the armor of God  You will conquer it all with the eye… of the tiger   Keep your eyes on God  And your heart in the word  Be a leader in Christ  Don’t follow with the herd   The eye of the tiger   Always walk by faith  Never walk by sight  With the armor of God  You’ll never lose the fight   The eye of the tiger --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
1/9/202343 minutes, 32 seconds
Episode Artwork

123 - Creator of the Stars of Night - High Street Hymns - Christmas Special 3.5

Was Mary 'blameless'? How does the High Street Hymns' version of 'Creator of the Stars of Night' compare to the 19th century translation, or that Latin original for that matter? --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/26/202236 minutes, 42 seconds
Episode Artwork

122 - What Child Is This? - Chris Tomlin ft. All Sons & Daughters - Christmas Special 3.4

Who would have thought that a poem set to the tune "Greensleeves" (A Newe Northen Dittye of ye Ladye Greene Sleves) would become one of the most popular Christmas hymns? What is with all of the rhetorical questions anyway? In this episode, we revisit the question of singing angels (with more prooftexts). We also dig into the gifts brought the infant Christ (frankincense, gold, myrrh) to find Old Testament symbols. Lyrics: What Child is this who laid to rest on Mary’s lap is sleeping, Whom angels greet with anthems sweet while shepherds watch are keeping?  This, this is Christ the King, whom shepherds guard and angels sing!  Haste, haste to bring Him laud, the babe, the son of Mary! So bring Him incense, gold, and myrrh; come peasant, King to own Him; The King of kings salvation brings; let loving hearts enthrone Him Raise, raise a a song on high! The virgin sings her lullaby Joy, joy for Christ is born, the babe, the son of Mary! Nails, spears shall pierce Him through; the cross He bore for me, for you! Hail, hail the Word made flesh, the babe, the son of Mary! Further reading: Hymnary.org notes and versions: https://hymnary.org/text/what_child_is_this_who_laid_to_rest Audio Sampled in this Episode: 1 - What Child is This? Chris Tomlin ft. All Sons & Daughters - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DzDxDv2WLMc 2 - Linus' Christmas Monologue - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eff0cqYefYY 3 - Royal Choral Society sings Hallelujah Chorus (from Handel's Messiah) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUZEtVbJT5c 4 - Bishop T.D. Jakes preaches at First Baptist Church of Glenarden  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bP-pEViFUQQ Other noteworthy versions: 1 - Vocal Spectrum performs What Child is This? - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U70xshi06Ls --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/20/202233 minutes, 28 seconds
Episode Artwork

121 - Go Tell It On The Mountain - Zach Williams - Christmas Special 3.3

This week, Colin and Tyler engage the most pressing question in all of Christian history: did the angels that announced Jesus birth sing? Yes, we went there. Listen to the review of Zach William's version of the classic "Go Tell It On the Mountain". --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/12/202239 minutes, 40 seconds
Episode Artwork

120 - Savior of the Nations, Come - Christmas Special 3.2

We are continuing our series on Christmas/Advent music. This week's episode discusses a poem by Ambrose of Milan, translated into German by Martin Luther, translated into English by William M. Reynolds. After crying out for the advent of the Savior, "Savior of the Nations, Come" invites us to marvel at the wonder of Christ's birth and the hypostatic union, to sing in awe at our King's great triumph over death and hell, and to offer praise to the three Persons of the Godhead.  English lyrics used in this episode: 1 Savior of the nations, come; virgin's Son, make here your home. Marvel now, O heav'n and earth, that the Lord chose such a birth. 2 Not by human flesh and blood, by the spirit of our God was the Word of God made flesh, woman's offspring, pure and fresh. 3 Wondrous birth! O wondrous Child of the virgin undefiled, though by all the world disowned, still to be in heav'n enthroned. 4 From the Father's throne he came and ascended to the same, captive leading death and hell. High the song of triumph swell! 5 Praise to God the Father sing, praise to God the Son, our King, praise to God the Spirit be ever and eternally. Modernized German (Luther's) text with a good translation: https://www.bach-cantatas.com/Texts/Chorale016-Eng3.htm Latin (Ambrose's) text with a good translation: https://www.cpdl.org/wiki/index.php/Veni_redemptor_gentium More about this text and tune:  Hymnary.org: https://hymnary.org/text/savior_of_the_nations_come_virgins_son Music used in this podcast: Stanza 1: Concordia Publishing House: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lKO-C5NTNvA Stanza 2: Chris Brunelle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iP_4YN7aRuM Stanza 3: David Tolk: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWFyqYl57ec Stanza 4: Koiné: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DsNPi71O7FI Stanza 5: David Tolk Other noteworthy versions: Cardiphonia: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ol78eWbhE1o Other notes: We also briefly sample "So Fresh So Clean" by Outkast (C) 2000 --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/5/202238 minutes, 11 seconds
Episode Artwork

119 - Born Is The King (It's Christmas) - Hillsong - Christmas Special 3.1

How important are verbs in a song? What does it mean to celebrate Christmas in worship? Colin and Tyler think through these issues as they consider 'Born Is The King (It's Christmas)' by Hillsong. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
11/29/202228 minutes, 12 seconds
Episode Artwork

118 - We Have Been Healed - Sovereign Grace - Excellent Songs

This week we're going through the lyrics of We Have Been Healed by Sovereign Grace Music. This song describes a "glorious exchange": all our sin for God's grace. What a concept to rejoice over and meditate on! Also, we read and discuss some of the Scriptural references in this song. Song URL: https://sovereigngracemusic.org/music/songs/we-have-been-healed/ VERSE 1 You bore our sins in Your body As You were hung on a tree So we might die to rebellion And live for Him who set us free VERSE 2 You were mocked and reviled Suffering in our place Trusting all to Your Father So enemies could know Your grace CHORUS We have been healed, justified Made alive in the life of Christ Righteous blood covers every sin Risen Lamb, heaven’s light Crucified and now alive In Your love, You have drawn us in VERSE 3 Like straying sheep we were wandering Destitute and alone You sought us out like a Shepherd You carried us and brought us home BRIDGE All our sin for Your grace What a glorious exchange All our sin for Your grace What a glorious exchange All our sin for Your grace --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
11/14/202227 minutes, 18 seconds
Episode Artwork

117 - A Mighty Fortress Is Our God - Tommy Bailey, Keith & Kristyn Getty - Excellent Songs

 One of the earliest protestant songs in history, "A Mighty Fortress Is Our God" was recently updated by the Gettys and Tommy Bailey. Tyler and Colin review this song lyric by lyric. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
11/7/202242 minutes, 36 seconds
Episode Artwork

116 - The Passover Song - Caroline Cobb & Sean Carter - Excellent Songs

This week, as a part of our new Excellent Songs series, we're looking at Caroline Cobb's "The Passover Song." This song draws on two Biblical narratives at the same time: the liberation of Israel from slavery in Egypt through the Passover, and the salvation of sinful humans by Jesus Christ, the Lamb of God. Music Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VjILH2YNUc Caroline Cobb: https://www.carolinecobb.com/ Song Story: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GiAUuroWHEo Lyrics (and other details from Caroline Cobb's bandcamp; edits marked in square brackets): Words and music by Caroline Cobb and Sean Carter Written January 11-14, 2013 Exodus 12 (See also John 1:29, Hebrews 10:20) There’s a promise in our veins But it’s faded by all these years in chains Send a prophet, send the plagues That by sunrise we will no more be slaves Take the lamb, take the blood And paint it on our doorways At night death will come but pass us by This is all our hope and peace In the morning we will rise Taste the freedom we thought we’d never find We will dance now in the streets Once held captive now we shall live as kings Lift your head, your voice And sing of your salvation Of the blood of the lamb that gave us life Now by this we’ll overcome Now by this we’ll reach our home There’s a poison in our veins And it leads to death we cannot escape Send a ransom a perfect Son Remedy the curse with [sung:  by] His precious blood And the Lamb that will come His cross will be our doorway And the red of His blood [sung: it w]ill make us white And [sung: the] daughters and sons Rejoice in resurrection And death swallowed up in endless life Glory, glory this I sing All my praise for this I bring Naught of good that I have done Nothing but the blood of Jesus --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
11/1/202227 minutes, 59 seconds
Episode Artwork

98 - Dave from KDMusic - S05.E11

Dave Whitcroft is a worship leader, pastor/elder and musician in Northern Ireland. This wide-ranging interview covers Dave's music, what is means to make "the church the lead singer", how to balance new songs and old songs in church music as well as other issues both local and global in contemporary Christian worship music. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
6/6/202257 minutes, 27 seconds
Episode Artwork

80 - No Longer Slaves - Bethel - S04.E15

Does God "unravel us with a melody"? Does Jesus' "blood flow through our veins"? Bethel got quite creative with "No Longer Slaves" and Colin and Tyler reflect on whether lines such as these stand up to biblical muster. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
1/24/202245 minutes, 47 seconds
Episode Artwork

77 - Sing We The Song Of Emmanuel - Gettys - Christmas Special 2.6

This week, Colin and Tyler consider a newer song by the Gettys which marvels at the incarnation and encourages the church to "tell the world" about Christ's advent. The hosts discuss the past, present and future significance of the incarnation and, at one point, a robot children's choir. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
1/3/202237 minutes, 32 seconds
Episode Artwork

76 - Seasons - Hillsong - Christmas Special 2.5

Merry Christmas! This week's episode looks at a newer song which is popular among churches in America. In the course of our discussion, we look at the many metaphors used in this song and investigate what these metaphors might be saying about God and about the life of the Christian. Lyrics: https://hillsong.com/lyrics/seasons/ Music video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QaEx2A7p9Dk Song background information and story: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9VK0ymATzs Brand new rendition: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fy8zb88ZXwE --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/27/202154 minutes, 12 seconds
Episode Artwork

75 - O Come, O Come Emmanuel - for KING & COUNTRY - Christmas Special 2.4

What is the "dayspring"? What is the "Key of David"? The song "O Come, O Come Emmanuel" provokes a rich discussion of these sorts of questions, but also some comments on Milli Vanilli. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/20/202133 minutes, 25 seconds
Episode Artwork

74 - Come Thou Long Expected Jesus - Meredith Andrews - Christmas Special 2.3

Like many advent hymns, this song ponders the first coming of Christ while looking earnestly toward the second coming. Tune in to hear our discussion of the prophecies surrounding Christ's birth, the prevalence of the King James Version of the Bible in so many hymns, and the multiple meanings of "Israel".  --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/13/202140 minutes, 48 seconds
Episode Artwork

73 - O Come All Ye Faithful (His Name Shall Be) - Passion - The Worship Review - Christmas Special 2.2

Our Christmas special continues as we look at a new version of 'O Come All Ye Faithful' and discuss whether Jesus is the 'King of Angels', the songs missing second verse and time travel. Here is a link to the 'missing' verse: https://hymnary.org/hymn/CWH2021/354 --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/7/202135 minutes, 27 seconds
Episode Artwork

72 - Noel - Chris Tomlin Ft. Lauren Daigle - Christmas Special 2.1

Once again we are looking at Christmas music on the Worship Review. This week we discuss the Advent Police, the concept of Original Sin, the hypostatic union, post-processing of audio, and another telltale sign of Christian music enunciation. We also look at the word noël more closely and identify some other words which are permitted only in Christmas music. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
11/29/202129 minutes, 15 seconds
Episode Artwork

58 - Series 3 Wrap (Part I) - The Worship Review - S03.E11

We wrap up season 3, and respond to listener feedback. Always fun! --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
8/16/202146 minutes, 54 seconds
Episode Artwork

57 - Favour Celebration / Call Me Favour - Deborah Lukalu - The Worship Review S03.E10

This week we discuss the final song in the third series. This song declares the singer's name to be Favour and asks for more favour and blessing. In this episode, we discuss whether God can do "too much", how annoying canned Christian responses to personal questions can be, what requirements of specificity exist in Christian music, Hebrew naming practices, and whether or not people can declare themselves to be the Favour of God. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
8/9/202133 minutes, 51 seconds
Episode Artwork

54 - Death Has No Power Over Me - Jeremy Camp, Adrienne Camp - The Worship Review S03.E07

Did Christ's work on the cross or his resurrection "heal our stains"? Does Christ "erase our scars"? This week, we examine a song currently near the top of the Christian charts in Uganda: 'Death Has No Power Over Me' by Jeremy Camp and Adrienne Camp.  --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
7/19/202146 minutes, 41 seconds
Episode Artwork

26 - Mary, Did You Know? - The Worship Review - Christmas Special 05

What did Mary know about Jesus? Should we ask such questions in Christmas songs? Colin and Tyler discuss each line of the popular Christmas tune "Mary, Did You Know?" --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
1/4/202153 minutes, 18 seconds
Episode Artwork

25 - God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen - The Worship Review - Christmas Special 04

Colin and Tyler (well, mostly Tyler) break down one of the world's oldest Christmas Carols: "God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen". --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/28/202044 minutes, 8 seconds
Episode Artwork

24 - Hark the Herald Angels Sing - The Worship Review - Christmas Special 03

Who is this herald named Hark and what does he have to do with Christmas? This week, we work through one of the the most challenging Christmas songs to understand. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/21/202046 minutes, 45 seconds
Episode Artwork

23 - Joy to the World - The Worship Review - Christmas Special 02

What does "Let every heart prepare him room" mean? Should Joy to the World even be sung during the Advent and Christmas season? On this week's episode of The Worship Review, we take a deep dive into this popular Christmas song. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/14/202044 minutes, 10 seconds
Episode Artwork

22 - Silent Night - The Worship Review - Christmas Special 01

We're taking a break from your regularly scheduled program to review Advent and Christmas songs. Check out this week's episode for Silent Night. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
12/7/202030 minutes, 32 seconds
Episode Artwork

20 - Series 1 Wrap Up (Part 1) - The Worship Review S01.E20

With the first series in the books, we want to work through listener questions and comments in a 2-part episode. In part 1, we answer these questions:  - How do we pick songs for review? - Is there an important distinction between "worship" and "worship music", i.e. why are we called the "worship review" if we only look at worship music?  - What disqualifies a song? What needs to be included in every song? Can deficiencies be made up in the surrounding liturgy?  - Is it wrong to critique worship songs assuming that most of them were written with benign, even God-glorifying motives?  - Is it right to criticize too much individualism? Is too great an emphasis on community not also a problem? --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
11/23/202025 minutes, 33 seconds
Episode Artwork

Trailer - The Worship Review

Check out our trailer for the new podcast: 'The Worship Review'. As former worship leaders--and now academics--we evaluate contemporary Christian music for the good of the church, to the glory of God. This podcast is meant to encourage thoughtful engagement with the words, emotions and ideas in the music sung in churches. We hope you enjoy our inaugural episode on Monday, July 13. --- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/message Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/worship-review/support
7/8/20205 minutes, 13 seconds